ROCKS THE PARTY IN THE PARK

                                            IN MIAMI 


One of the best classic rock bands to ever grace the airwaves came to Party In The Park with some of their biggest fans in attendance. Needless to say, Mickey Thomas and STARSHIP rocked the park till the dark. This performance is one of many slated to take place in the State of Florida this month. If you didn't have a chance to see them this past weekend, there are still opportunities to do so.


Starship took the stage at 4:30pm this afternoon to rock the socks off of South Florida. The band played what was basically a Greatest Hits show, which was to the delight of the audience. As the smell of weed rode on the coattails of the wind in this park reeking of the 1960's Vietnam era, Mickey Thomas, The lead singer for Starship, Belted out hit after hit.


Sporting Bandannas and tie-dye t-shirts, The crowd, made up of all ages, rocked out to such hits as "Jane", "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now", "We Built This City", and "Sara". What was great about this performance was the fact that Starship brought some great classics out of the vault for all to hear. The Elvin Bishop classic "Fooled Around and Fell in Love" was a crowd pleaser, along with "Miracles". Other selections from the Flower Power days included "Somebody To Love" and the eternal classic "White Rabbit" made famous by Grace Slick, but performed to perfection by Stephanie Calvert.


This concert event was a blast! The music took everyone back to when music had a message and times were simpler in the fact that at that time, we did not have the technology that we have today. Then we had great music and time to spend with our families. Children actually played in the street and rode their bikes, and a time when all of the stores were closed on Sunday to allow family time. This is what the music of the 60's & 70's makes me feel, and that is what I feel whenever I hear the music of Starship.


STARSHIP Band Members are…


  • Mickey Thomas – vocals.
  • Phil Bennett – keyboards.
  • Darrell Verdusco – drums.
  • Jeff Adams – bass.
  • Stephanie Calvert – vocals.
  • John Roth – guitar.


For more information and up-coming tour dates, log on to STARSHIP'S website at